2019 Jack Webster Awards Announced


VANCOUVERNov. 8, 2019 /CNW/ – Western Canada’s preeminent journalism awards were presented last evening at the 2019 Jack Webster Awards, held at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver in downtown Vancouver B.C.  The awards recognize excellence in journalism in B.C.

Nahlah Ayed- Featured Guest (CNW Group/Jack Webster Foundation)
Featured guest Nahlah Ayed


Submissions were encouraged from print, radio, television and online media sources that cover news, sports, the arts, business, community issues, and more.  The winners for the 2019 Jack Webster Awards are:

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Business, Industry and Economics Reporting, Endowed by Jean Cormier
Brent Jang, The Globe and Mail for Coastal GasLink Blockade

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
Tamara BalujaDillon HodginPeter Scobie, CBC Vancouver for Walking a mile in their combat shoes

Jack Webster Award for Best Community Reporting
Dustin Godfrey, Abbotsford News for Finding a way home

Jack Webster Award for Best Reporting, Chinese Language
Jocelyn Wang, Fairchild TV for Magazine 26: Shortage of Seniors Care Workers

Commentator of the Year – City Mike Award, presented in memory of Linda Webster
Daphne Bramham, The Vancouver Sun

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Science, Technology Health, and Environment Reporting
Penny SakamotoKatherine EngqvistNicole CrescenziNick MurrayShalu MehtaNina GrossmanRuby Della SiegaMichelle GjerdeLily ChanJennifer BlythArnold Lim, Victoria News – Black Press Media for Special Report: Opioid Crisis

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism, Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
Jason ProctorVivian LukStephen QuinnGeoff WalterTheresa Duvall, CBC Vancouver for Sanctioned

Best Breaking News Reporting –  Radio
-Gord Macdonald, Terry SchintzJanet BrownMark MadrygaJordan ArmstrongKristi GordonErin Ubels, 980 CKNW for December Windstorm

Best Breaking News Reporting –  TV, presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
Richard ZussmanAl CoenKeith BaldreyKristi Gordon, Global BC News for Wildfire: State of Emergency 2018

Best Breaking News  Reporting –  Print/Text-Based Online
Frances Bula, The Globe and Mail for Campaign Finance: The Civic Edition

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Radio
Anne PenmanJoan Webber, CBC Vancouver for On Gladys Avenue

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – TV
John HuaSam CooperTed AnhornSergio MagroTavis Dunn, Global BC News for Casino Diaries

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Print/Text-Based Online
Kathy Tomlinson, The Globe and Mail for False Promises

Fabian Dawson 2019 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient (CNW Group/Jack Webster Foundation)


Also, at the awards, the 2019 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Fabian Dawson and the 2019 Bill Good Award was presented to the organization, Megaphone.  Nahlah Ayed, an award-winning foreign reporter, and now host/producer of Ideas on CBC was the event’s featured guest.

This year’s Jack Webster Awards were made possible by:  BCGEU, BCIT, Capital Direct, Coast Capital Savings, FortisBC, Global Container Terminals Inc., Greater Vancouver Board of Trade, Langara, LNG Canada, Lyft, Port of Vancouver, UDI, and Unifor, with Hyphen as the Film Partner, Jelly Marketing & PR as the Communication Partner and Rocky Mountaineer as the Raffle Prize Partner.  Thanks to Cision for also sponsoring this announcement.

The Jack Webster Foundation was founded in 1986 and named after the man who was Western Canada’s best-known and most influential reporter.  He left his mark on the B.C. journalism scene with his hard-hitting reporting style. In his more than 40 years of print, radio and television journalism, Jack Webster was synonymous with insightful, accurate and unabashed reporting. Today the Jack Webster Foundation carries on Jack’s legacy by fostering excellence in journalism to protect the public interest for British Columbians by:  holding the annual Jack Webster Awards for excellence in journalism in B.C., awarding annual Student Awards to aboriginal and senior journalism students, awarding Professional Development Fellowships to working journalists, and providing educational seminars for the media.


Logo Jack Webster Awards (CNW Group/Jack Webster Foundation)



  1. With the media being supported with taxpayer’s money – $595,000,000, plus, plus, plus….. why not have the “Propaganda Awards”, which could include best actor in a newscast, best script writer, etc.

  2. Dear Fake News,

    I don’t think you know what you’re talking about. Of all the nominees and winners, CBC is the only organization receiving Government financial support.

  3. Not quite true Terry. All the big media companies receive generous grants and tax credits. Look at any Canadian production, and you’ll see they’re first at the trough.

  4. James O’Keefe deserves an award.

    James O’Keefe
    ‏ @JamesOKeefeIII

    If you only read the @nytimes and watch @cnn, you’d know NOTHING about the @ABC #EpsteinCoverup Robach story and @CBSNews firing an innocent woman. They haven’t mentioned it.

    Not once.

    Let that sink in for a minute.

    Now tell me why we should only trust ‘legitimate’ news orgs.
    11:57 AM – 9 Nov 2019

  5. Members of the media that knowingly propagandize their audience should be investigated, and where warranted, charged, prosecuted, fined and/or jailed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here