Nominations for Young Broadcaster Award has now closed!


Just received word from Jim JJ Johnston, announcing the deadline for nominations for the Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award, in Honour of Steve Young, has been extended to this coming Monday February the 6th, 2016.

Jim JJ Johnston, the late Steve Young & Bob Saint

Press Release

The most encouraging thing about working in radio today is the new crop of broadcasters: young and fresh with something to say, and the tools to say it. We’ve seen the talent pool explode in the past 8 years since we awarded the first Steve Young Broadcaster of the Year. And just in time! Engaging and compelling personalities will be the critical point of difference as radio marches forward.

Please take the opportunity to shine a spotlight on one of the rising stars in your chain, as CMW and “Friends of Steve Young” once again salute Steve with the “Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award in Honour of Steve Young”.

The winning recipient’s travel, accommodation and CMW registration will be covered so they can receive this award in person at Canadian Music Week, April 17-22. The two runners-up will also be recognized for their contributions.

Anyone working in the industry can nominate any young broadcaster that meets this criteria:

  1. Candidates must beunder the age of 30 as of April 20, 2017
  2. Must work in the programming department: On-air, Programming, Promotion, Production or Creative
  3. Must be nominated by another individual working in the radio industry
  4. Must be Canadian Citizens or Landed Immigrant
  5. Must have made a significant, documented contribution to the community they serve, the radio industry or their craft


Please note that past nominees, including last year’s runners-up, can once again be nominated if they still fit the criteria. But please submit soon. Deadline for entries has been extended to Monday Feb 6th, 2017 Midnight ESTClick here or copy-and-paste the link below – to access the Submission Form that must be completed for your nomination.

Submissions will be reviewed by “Friends of Steve Young” with a winner selected and notified by March 15, 2017. Please be sure to attach materials in support of your submission (mp3 airchecks, press coverage, documentation of community involvement, awards, ratings, proof of age etc).

Special appreciation to CMW’s Neill Dixon and Greg Simpson for coming up with the original idea. Thanks to the “Friends of Steve Young team” chaired in the past by Jeff Vidler and JJ Johnston and co-chaired again this year by Bob Saint and JJ Johnston. As always, warm thanks and appreciation to Jim Waters and the Waters family for sponsoring the award year after year.


If you have any questions don’t hesitate to contact JJ Johnston (613-438-4455) or Bob Saint (416-818-8149), 2017 Chairs, Friends of Steve Young





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here