BCAB President’s Dinner & Award Gala

Tracey Friesen from Roundhouse receives Award at BCAB Convention in Penticton



Gerry O’Day

By Gerry O’Day

PSR Contributor


Friday May 20th, 2016



Sonya Beeksma was named Broadcast Performer of Tomorrow– Global and Global 1-


Broadcast Performer of the Year- Erin Davis- 103.5 QMFM- She brought her mom/ dad and husband Steve

Best commercial creative ( TV ) Large Market went to CTV Vancouver for a Waves Coffee house commercial- Erin was one of the voices on it.

CTV  also picked up Community Service Award ( TV ) LARGE MARKET for Hope Starts Here featuring Tamara Taggart. ( not there )


Roundhouse Radio 98.3 Vancouver picked up two awards with Best Station Imaging ( Radio ) large Market for Listeners Promo + Community Service Award ( Radio ) Large Market for Greater Vancouver Food Bank.

Best station imaging ( TV ) went to Global TV with the hockey spoof promo for Bringing Sports to Life . Jill Krop accepted .


Clay and Karen hosted the evening- some great one liners in the moment with today-




The FACTOR musical performance was Delhi 2 Dublin- the five piece Vancouver showed the diversity of Canada with a part Punjabi,  part Irish act that had the crowd on there feet along with a first every encore at the B.C.A.B.


BROADCASTER OF THE YEAR went to Rick Arnish who retired at the end of January from Pattison. He had been with them since 1969

BEST STATION IMAGING  ( Radio )  SMALL/ MEDIUM – The Q’s Payroll- typewriter 100.3 The Q

EXCELLENCE IN NEWS REPORTING– Port Metro Vancouver Fire- NEWS 1130

EXCELLENCE IN NEWS REPORTING  ( TV )  Tofino Tragedy  GLOBAL BC- Troy Reeb accepted

BEST COMMERCIAL CREATIVE  ( RADIO )  Steamworks- Holiday Mashup- Bell Media Radio Vancouver

BEST COMMERCIAL CREATIVE ( RADIO )  SMALL/MEDIUM MARKET– Dakoda’s Burrito Dance- Power 104/ Q1031 Kelowna

That’s just some of the winners- The event moves to Osoyoos in 2017 .



Related Story, Day ONE  Day TWO

Gerry’s Twitter

his Facebook

not to forget his LinkedIn

Puget Sound Radio thanks BCAB and our conference pass winner Gerry O’Day for providing the copy and photos of this years conference in Penticton.

See you next year in Osoyoos!




  1. Congratulations to Erin Davis (Vancouver) for being the British Columbia Association Of Broadcasters Performer of the year!
    Erin is currently a member of The Nat and Drew Show on 103.5 QMFM, Vancouver.
    Worth noting: Nat and Drew nominated her for the award!

    Steve Dunbar
    (Proud husband, proud former broadcaster)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here