Friday, February 23, 2024
Home News Industry News Jeff Healy & The Band to be Inducted into Canada’s Walk of...

Jeff Healy & The Band to be Inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame

  • By ,  Toronto Reporter., 
Jeff Healey, 1988.
 Jeff Healey performing in 1988.   Rob Verhorst/Redfern


The late Jeff Healey, the blind blues-rock singer who played guitar on his lap, and The Band, which featured Canadians Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko, Garth Hudson and Richard Manuel, as well as American Levon Helm, are the two musical honorees to be inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame on Oct. 18. 

Both acts will receive stars on the sidewalk in Toronto’s entertainment district and be honored at a tribute show Sept. 19 at Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. A televised special of the event will air in Canada on Global Television on Dec. 19.

Healey, who lost his sight as a baby to retinoblastoma, a rare cancer, passed away in 2008 of another form of cancer at the age of 41. Of the original members of the Band, only Robertson and Hudson are still living. They will be feted alongside actors Ryan Reynolds and Rachel McAdams; athlete Hayley Wickenheiser (women’s ice hockey); and lawyer Louise Arbour, the former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada.

“We are proud to welcome these six new outstanding honourees to Canada’s Walk of Fame,” Melanie Berry, the new CEO of Canada’s Walk of Fame, said in a statement. “Each have impacted Canada’s social and cultural heritage across the country and around the world. They are inspiring and remind us that anything can be achieved with hard work, dedication, passion and integrity. They are ambassadors of Canada and instill pride in our country.”

More than 150 names have been inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame since 1998, including musicians Bryan Adams, David Foster, Celine Dion, Shania Twain and the Tragically Hip.

The Walk of Fame inductees have been chosen for their achievements in various fields, including music, sports, film and television, literary, visual and performing arts, science, innovation, philanthropy and social justice. Candidates must have been born in or spent their creative or formative years in Canada. A minimum of 10 successful years is required to qualify, as well as a recognized body of work that has had a significant influence on our cultural heritage.

Healey will also receive this year’s Cineplex Legends Award — sponsored by Cineplex Entertainment — which is given posthumously to a Canadian pioneer in film and television, music, sports, arts or innovation.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.