National Radio Hall of Fame/WGN Loses Cubs


Al Peterson’s NTS Media OnLine


June the 5th, 2014

RHOF Class of 2014 Announced

The National Radio Hall of Fame (NRHOF) will induct seven new members this fall at a black-tie ceremony, hosted by Premiere Networks personality Delilah. Nationally syndicated talk host Jim Bohannon of Westwood One will reprise his role as announcer for the event’s live, nationwide broadcast, which will be produced and distributed by Premiere Networks in association with the Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC). This year’s induction ceremonies will be held on Sunday, November 9th in Los Angeles, marking the first time the annual ceremony will take place outside of the MBC’s hometown of Chicago. “The National Radio Hall of Fame is taking the show on the road this year,” said MBC Founder and President Bruce DuMont. “There are many Radio Hall of Famers living in southern California, as well as several 2014 inductees, so it seems like a great time to try something different this year.”

Charlie & Harrigan (Jack Woods and Paul Menard

The 2014 inductees include the now retired legendary morning team of Charlie & Harrigan (Jack Woods and Paul Menard (pictured); groundbreaking Talk radio host Barry Farber; pioneering radio and TV broadcaster Stanley E. Hubbard; the longtime ‘Voice of the San Francisco Giants,’ Jon Miller; veteran broadcaster, radio commercial producer and creator of the longest running radio serial of all time, Chickenman, Dick Orkin; This American Life host Ira Glass; and early radio and television personality and actress Agnes Moorehead, who will be honored posthumously. The 2014 NRHOF induction-ceremony broadcast will also honor the women of the National Radio Hall of Fame, including actors Eve Arden (Our Miss Brooks), Virginia Payne (Ma Perkins), Shirley Bell (Little Orphan Annie), and Virginia Clark and Julie Stevens (The Romance of Helen Trent); comedians Gracie Allen and Jane Ace; triple threats Marian Jordan (Fibber McGee and Molly) and Gertrude Berg (The Goldbergs); behind-the-scenes players like producer Lynne “Angel” Harvey and executive Cathy Hughes; journalists Ann Compton (ABC News) and Susan Stamberg (NPR); interviewer Terry Gross (Fresh Air); singer and national icon Kate Smith; urban-radio personality Wendy Williams; Chicago disc jockeys Yvonne Daniels and Terri Hemmert; and jazz great Marian McPartland.


It’s Official: Cubs Moving To WBBM/Chicago

WBBM Newsradio 780AM has been named the Chicago Cubs new flagship radio station, beginning with the 2015 season. The all-newser will broadcast regular and postseason games, and select pre-season contests, with Pat Hughes and Ron Coomer calling the play-by-play. The move to WBBM from the team’s longtime radio home at crosstown WGN is part of a multi-year sports and entertainment package between the Cubs and CBS Radio/Chicago that includes promotional initiatives across all seven of the company’s Windy City stations, along with its various digital and social media platforms. Additionally, WBBM and Cubs’ management will work jointly to create and produce live music events at Wrigley Field. “This is truly an historic day in Chicago radio,” said CBS Radio/Chicago SVP and Market Manager Rod Zimmerman. “It is a rare opportunity that broadcast rights to such exclusive content like the Chicago Cubs become available. We are all beyond excited to move forward with this partnership that will bring Cubs baseball to a new level of engagement with fans throughout Chicago and the nation.”


Dr. Laura Schlessinger

Digital Talk Media News Notes

WTOP/Washington expands its online sports coverage with the addition of a new “beefed-up” sports section on and the hire of Noah Frank as Digital Sports Editor. Frank most recently worked with the Washington Nationals, but also sports prior stints with the Fresno Grizzlies, San Antonio Missions and the Chicago Cubs. He’ll report to WTOP Director/Digital Media John Meyer … Recognizing the difficulty parents face in protecting their kids from cyberbullying, predators, vulgarity, spam, pornography, and other Internet dangers, Dr. Laura Schlessinger (pictured) is encouraging her SiriusXM and online listeners to use KidsEmail to help safeguard their kids. Launched in 2009, offers a safe service that allows kids 4-12 to send and receive emails only from people on their contact list while also allowing parents to monitor email conversations.

Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh — better known to fans as Ralph and Razor —

Talk Media News Notes

At last night’s 2014 Mercury Awards gala in New York City, produced by the RAB, Weiden+Kennedy’s “Momsong” commercial for Old Spice deodorant took home the $50,000 ‘Best of Show’ trophy, while Geico was honored as “Marketer of the Year.” That’s Hubbard Radio President/CEO Bruce Reese pictured with Geico’s Amy Hooks accepting the award at the event. Hear all of this year’s award winning work HERE … The NHL Dallas Stars extend their radio rights deal for an additional five years with Cumulus Media Sports/Talker 1310 AM/96.7 FM The Ticket (KTCK). The Stars’ broadcasts will continue to feature the award-winning duo of Ralph Strangis and Daryl Reaugh — better known to fans as Ralph and Razor — who have called the team’s games together for nearly two decades. KTCK has served as the Stars’ radio flagship for the past five season.

Remembering D-Day: FOX News Channel (FNC) reports it will mark the 70th anniversary of D-Day throughout the day tomorrow (6/6) with special coverage. Chief White House correspondent Ed Henry is traveling with President Obama and will provide coverage of the official U.S. commemoration of D-Day at Omaha Beach in Normandy, France. Correspondent Amy Kellogg will also contribute to the day’s TV coverage from London. Meanwhile, FOX News Radio will provide coverage by correspondent Jeff Monosso, along with Simon Owen reporting from Normandy. Monosso will also host a special program, D-Day: We Remember, a look back at the events that unfolded during the D-Day invasion, as well as the day’s remembrance ceremonies. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here