Radio Mans fave with Mike & The Mechanics


Silent Running

Mike and the Mechanics (stylised as Mike + The Mechanics) are an English rock supergroup formed in Dover in 1985 by Mike Rutherford, initially as a side project during a hiatus period for his other group Genesis. The band are known for the hit singles “Silent Running“, “All I Need Is a Miracle“, “Taken In“, “The Living Years“, “Word of Mouth“, and “Over My Shoulder“.

Initially, the band included Rutherford (the only constant member), vocalists Paul Carrack and Paul Young, keyboardist Adrian Lee, and drummer Peter Van Hooke. After a decade together, Lee and Van Hooke dropped out in 1995 and were not replaced. Following Young’s death in 2000, Carrack became the band’s sole lead vocalist until 2004 when the band (essentially a duo at this point) dissolved, with Rutherford and Carrack both agreeing the band had “run its course”.[1] In 2010, the band were revived with Rutherford headlining a completely new set of musicians, including vocalists Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar. In the Refueled! 2023 tour, Mike announced Nicholas Collins as the band’s new drummer.

Read More HERE




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here