The CW Renews 13 Series, Six of Them Shot in Vancouver


The CW
From left: ‘Batwoman,’ ‘Riverdale,’ ‘The Flash’ (all shot in Vancouver.)
For the second straight year, The CW is on track to bring back virtually its entire in-season lineup.

The network has renewed 13 series for the 2020-21 season — all but one of its scripted shows that haven’t announced an end date in the current season. Arrow, Supernatural and The 100 are bowing out in 2020.

Returning next season will be first-year shows Batwoman and Nancy Drew, along with veterans All American (season three), Black Lightning (season four), Charmed (season three), Dynasty (season four), The Flash (season seven), In the Dark (season three), Legacies (season three), Legends of Tomorrow (season six), Riverdale (season five), Roswell, New Mexico (season three) and Supergirl (season five on The CW and six overall, as the first aired on CBS).

(Shows in black highlights are shot in Vancouver.)

The only series not to receive a formal pickup is Riverdale spinoff Katy Keene, which is set to premiere in February. The CW has, however, ordered 13 additional scripts, putting the Lucy Hale starrer on the path toward renewal.

“These early orders for next season give our production teams a head start in plotting out story arcs and a jump on hiring staff, and this also provides us with a strong foundation of established, fan-favorite CW shows to build on for next season,” The CW president Mark Pedowitz said Tuesday in a statement. “We’ve been thrilled with the creative direction of all three new series, and even though we are in the very early stages of our new full stack streaming strategy, which allows viewers to catch up on our new shows from the beginning, we’re already seeing incredibly positive results from our multiplatform viewership for Nancy Drew and Batwoman.”

Read more HERE.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here