Winners Announced for 2018 Jack Webster Awards


VANCOUVEROct. 29, 2018 /CNW/ – Western Canada’s preeminent journalism awards were presented this evening at the 2018 Jack Webster Awards, held at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Vancouver B.C.  The awards recognize excellence in journalism in B.C.

Submissions were encouraged from print, radio, television and online media sources that cover news, sports, the arts, business, community issues, and more.  The winners for the 2018 Jack Webster Awards are:

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Television
Jill BennettJohn HuaCatherine UrquhartGrace Ke, Global BC News for Soliris Fight

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Radio
Bal BrachLaura PalmerStephen QuinnMatthew Parsons, Lee Rosevere, CBC Radio One, for SOLD!

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting – Print/Text-Based Online
Sam CooperVancouver Sun/The Province, for Dirty Money in BC:  Casinos, Drugs, Real Estate

Excellence in Business, Industry and Economics Reporting
Rob ShawVancouver Sun/The Province, for The economics of public auto insurance

Excellence in Legal Journalism
Laura KaneGeordon Omand, The Canadian Press, for Jordan Decision, One Year Later

Excellence in Science, Technology and Environment Reporting
Johanna WagstaffePolly Leger, Lee Rosevere, Shiral Tobin, CBC Radio One, for 2050:  Degrees of Change

Best Reporting Chinese Language
Susanna NgIvy NgEva ChengEric ChanVictoria ChangAmanda SunMing Pao Daily, for Hongkongers in Canada – on the 20th anniversary of Hong Kong’s handover

Best Community Reporting
Max WinkelmanTara SprickerhoffBarbara Roden, 100 Mile House Free Press/Ashcroft Cache Creek Journal, for Fire Fight

Excellence in Digital Journalism
Justin McElroy,, for We’ve tracked every promise the B.C. NDP made in the last election:  Here’s where they stand

Best Breaking News Reporting – Television
Geoff HastingsAaron McArthurDarryl PattonStephen LyonKeith WhitterMonty BurtKarl AvefjallSimon Boniface, Luca Sgaetti, Global BC News, for Cst. Davidson Shot

Best Breaking News Reporting – Radio
Stephen Quinn, Lee Rosevere, Drew KerekesJake CostelloBridgette WatsonYvette BrendClaudia GoodineMichelle EliotTheresa DuvallChris RobinsonRob ZimmermanRafferty BakerMegan Thomas, CBC Radio One, for The morningCanada bought a pipeline

Best Breaking News Reporting – Print/Text-Based Online
Scott BrownCheryl ChanLori CulbertNick EaglandGordon HoekstraStephanie IpPatrick JohnstonRich LamGlenda LuymesHarrison MooneyJason PayneJennifer SaltmanVancouver Sun/The Province, for BC Wildfires 2017

Commentator of the Year/City Mike Award
John Gleeson, Coast Reporter

Also at the awards, the 2018 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Clive Jackson and the 2018 Bill Good Award was presented to Donna Logan.  Keith Morrison, an award-winning correspondent for Dateline NBC who joined the program in 1995 after a prominent career at both NBC and in Canadian television was the event’s guest speaker.

This year’s Jack Webster Awards were made possible by Air Canada, BCGEU, Coast Capital Savings, FortisBC, Global Container Terminals Inc., Greater Vancouver Board of Trade, Lyft, The Pattison Group, Port of Vancouver, UDI, and Vancity. Hyphen, video sponsor and Rocky Mountain Railtours, door prize sponsor.

The Jack Webster Foundation was founded in 1986 and named after the man who was Western Canada’s best-known and most influential reporter.  He left his mark on the B.C. journalism scene with his hard-hitting reporting style. In his more than 40 years of print, radio and television journalism, Jack Webster was synonymous with insightful, accurate and unabashed reporting. Today the Jack Webster Foundation carries on Jack’s legacy by promoting and recognizing the achievements of B.C.- based reporters by:  holding the annual Jack Webster Awards for excellence in journalism in BC, awarding annual Student Awards to senior journalism students, awarding Professional Development Fellowships to working journalists, and providing educational seminars for the media.

Thanks to Cision for sponsoring this announcement

SOURCE Jack Webster Foundation

For further information: Janet Mitchell, Executive Director, Jack Webster Foundation, T 604-603-4218,

E in**@ja*********.com




  1. Im not sure how the nominations happen or who votes but, it appears that NW which was news sports talk might be NW Talk. To bad there isnt a category for biggest cost cuts leading to dismal ratings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here