WAB Gold Medal Awards 2018 Gala



Award Winners from the 2018 WAB Gold Medal Awards Gala


The Western Association of Broadcasters is pleased to announce the winners at the 2018 WAB Gold Medal Awards Gala which took place on Thursday, June 7, at the Fairmont Banff Springs in Banff, Alberta.   The Awards Gala was MC’ed by Linda Olsen of Global Calgary and celebrated the best and brightest in Prairie broadcasting.

Every June the Western Association of Broadcasters gather annually to honour outstanding efforts of their membership in Alberta Saskatchewan and Manitoba at their prestigious Gold Medal Awards Gala following their Conference. It was an exceptional year for recognition at the highest level of broadcasting excellence.



2018 WAB Gold Medal Awards for Community Service

For Radio
(Under 150,000 Market)
Fabmar Communications – 100 CJVR & CK750 Melfort
Melfort Hospital Radiothon


 (Market 150,000 and Over)
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group – QX104 Winnipeg
Slo-Pitch 4 A Wish


For Television
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group – CHAT TV Medicine Hat
Different Is Good


For Digital
Jim Pattison Broadcast Group – larongeNOW
Voice for the North


2018 WAB Leader of Tomorrow

Bradley Karp
Rogers Media – Country 93.3 Fort McMurray


2018 WAB Hall of Fame Inductees

Joanne Johnson
Newcap Radio – XL 103 Calgary (Retired)


Bob Layton
Corus Entertainment – 630 CHED Edmonton


The Western Association of Broadcasters also recognized new Broadcast Order of Achievement recipients celebrating 25 years of achievement in Canadian broadcasting.

Quarter Century Club – 25 Years:

Doug Anderson (Golden West), Bob Brown (Golden West), Dan Fisico (Corus), Bryn James (Pattison), Tim Morris (Pattison), Darrell Novakovski (Golden West), Heidi Rasmussen (Pattison), Henry Sawatzky (Golden West), Kevin Watson (Pattison), Brent Young (Pattison). Jim Zaiachkowski (Fabmar)






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here