Jack Webster Finalists named for BC’s Annual Journalism Awards




Finalists named for BC’s Annual Journalism Awards

A selection of BC’s best journalists have been named as finalists for the 2016 Jack Webster Awards. Winners will be announced at the 30th annual Jack Webster Awards dinner on Wednesday, October 20 at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver.

Shelley Fralic will receive the 2016 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award and will feature Peter Mansbridge, CBC’s Chief Correspondent and Host of The National.

The 2016 Jack Webster Awards Finalists are:

Best News Reporting of the Year – Print

  • Laura Kane
    The Canadian Press
    Campus Sex Assaults
  • Kathy Tomlinson
    The Globe and Mail
    Real Estate Wild West
  • Sarah Petrescu, Carla Wilson, Katherine Dedyna, Bill Cleverley, Louise Dickson, Richard Watts, Lindsay Kines, Jeff Bell, Les Leyne, Jack Knox, Cindy E. Harnett, Bruce Stotesbury and Darren Stone
    Times Colonist
    Victoria’s Tent City


Best News Reporting of the Year – Radio

  • Bob Keating
    CBC Nelson
    Season of Fire
  • Megan Thomas
    CBC Radio News
    Tragedy off Tofino
  • Wil Fundal, Stephanie Mercier, Robert Doane, Chris Corday
    When Mountains Move


Best News Reporting of the Year – Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury

  • Eric Rankin, Yvette Brend
    CBC Vancouver News
    Metis Adoption
  • Belle Puri, Chris Brown, Chis Corday, Dan Burritt, Eric Rankin, Glen Kugelstadt, Johanna Wagstaffe, Mike McArthur, Richard Zussman, Susana da Silva
    CBC Vancouver News
    Tofino Leviathan II sinking
  • St. John Alexander and Mi-Jung Lee
    CTV Vancouver
    Westjet Harassment Investigation


Best Feature Story – Print

  • Justine Hunter
    The Globe and Mail
    Greenpeace, a history
  • J.B. MacKinnon
    Hakai Magazine
    The Whale Dying on the Mountain
  • Jane Seyd
    North Shore News
    The New Gold Rush


Best Feature Story – Radio

  • Catherine Rolfsen, Bal Brach, Alison Broddle, Rick Cluff, Stephen Quinn, Theresa Duvall, Shiral Tobin, Lee Rosevere
    CBC Vancouver
    Finding Refuge
  • Jean Paetkau, Robyn Burns, Kirstie Hudson
    CBC Radio Victoria
    A Loss of Innocence
  • Elaine Chau, Manusha Janakiram, Lee Rosevere
    CBC Radio One
    Wui Gwai: Hong Kong Homecoming


Best Feature Story – Television

  • Adam Sawatsky, Brendan Strain
    CTV News Vancouver Island
    Bus Boy
  • Duncan McCue, Doug Trent, Denis Grenier
    CBC TV
    Hooker Monologues
  • Sonia Deol, Tony Clark, Ted Anhorn
    Global News
    Remembering Maple Batalia


Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism

  • Andrea Woo
    The Globe and Mail
    Fentanyl’s Deadly Path
  • Alison Broddle, Tamara Baluja, Catherine Rolfsen, Bal Brach and the CBC.ca/BC web team
    CBC News
    Finding Refuge: Meet some of the Syrian Refugees
  • Jon Woodward, Kendra Mangione
    CTV Vancouver
    Where the kids are


Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier

  • Travis Lupick
    The Georgia Straight
    Confidential documents reveal B.C.’s new minimum wage was one big mistake
  • Jeremy Allingham
    CBC Radio / cbc.ca
    Hopped Up: Competition, challenges and change in B.C.’s craft beer industry
  • Mike Hager
    The Globe and Mail
    Medical Marijuana


Best Reporting – Chinese Language

  • Clement Tang
    Fairchild Television Magazine 26
    BC Drug Overdose
  • Jose Ng, Kelvin Chung, Aiken Lau, Edward Liu, Andy Cheung, Edward Chun
    CHMB AM1320
    Home Affordability
  • Spencer Gall
    Fairchild Television Magazine 26
    How Can I Let Go?


Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting

  • Don Descoteau, Dan Ebenal, Pamela Roth, Arnold Lim, Don Denton
    Goldstream News Gazette
    Sewage in the CRD
  • Jessica Klymchuk
    Kamloops This Week
    Transcendent: When Darrin became Deanna
  • Tim Petruk
    Kamloops This Week
    Triumph & Tragedy: The Rudy Poeschek Story


Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia

  • Kim Bolan
    The Vancouver Sun
    Jail Violence on the Rise
  • Tamsyn Burgmann
    The Canadian Press
    Not Criminally Responsible
  • Stephen Hume
    The Vancouver Sun
    Province Failed The Public By Withholding Water Test Data


Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health & Environment
Sponsored by Genome British Columbia

  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts, Glen Kugelstadt
    CBC TV
    Bill’s Place
  • Francis Plourde, Pierre Beaudoin, Harold Dupuis
    Le Semaine Verte, Radio-Canada/The National, CBC
    How the high demand for almonds is affecting California
  • Alberto Mendoza-Galina, Keith Rozendal, Clea Machold, Katelyn Verstraten, Peter Klein, Gary Marcuse
    Global Reporting Centre
    Milliondollarmeds Rare Diseases in Canada


City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
Presented in memory of Linda Webster

  • Winner will be announced at the Jack Webster Awards Dinner


Bill Good Award

  • The recipient will be announced later in September


Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Shelley Fralic







This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.